Events

The Association runs a series of lectures aimed at new or would-be beekeepers (but of interest to everybody) in early spring.

In season, volunteers work at the Crathes apiary on Sundays between 10:00 am and 12:00 am.  Please always contact Naomi Adams, the Crathes apiary manager, before visiting the apiary.


Introduction to Beekeeping Course 2019

Apiary visit for course participants this weekend, 27-28 April.

Crathes Apiary, Banchory AB31 5QJ


Demonstration – Shook Swarm and Bailey Comb Change with Graham Torrie
Saturday, 4 May at 2pm
Crathes Apiary, Banchory AB31 5QJ


Apiary visit and poly hives with Erling Watt
Sunday, 12 May at 2pm
Aden Country Park


[Garden Fair – Sorry – this event has been cancelled
Saturday to Sunday, 18 – 19 May
Crathes Castle, Banchory AB31 5QJ]


Demonstration – Apiary visit with Yvonne Davidson
Sunday, 9 June at 2pm
Tarland (details to follow)


Royal Highland Show, Edinburgh
Thursday to Sunday, 20 – 23 June


Garden visit – Cruickshank Garden, St Machar Drive with Mark Paterson
Tuesday, 2 July
(Details to follow)


Demonstration – Honey processing with Colin Devine
Saturday, 20 July at 2pm
The Bee Cabin, Dess, Aboyne (booking required)


Demonstration – Disease inspection with Kirsty Sutherland
Saturday, 27 July at 2pm
Crathes Apiary, Banchory AB31 5QJ


Turriff Show
Sunday to Monday, 4 to 5 August


Social event and barbeque with Joan Gilbert-Stevens
Saturday, 17 August
Muir of Fowlis (details to follow, and booking required)


Demonstration – Heather site visit with Murray McGregor
Sunday, 1 September
Dinnet  (Details to follow)


Beekeepers’ quiz
Friday, 13 September at 7:30 pm
Hallmark Hotel, Farburn Terrace, Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7DW


SBA Convention
Saturday, 14 September
Hallmark Hotel, Farburn Terrace, Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7DW (details to follow; booking required)


Skep-making Workshop with Bryce Reynard
Saturday, 5 October
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Rd, Blackburn AB21 0JQ (booking required)


Honey Show
Saturday, 12 October
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Rd, Blackburn AB21 0JQ (details to follow)


Lecture – Pollens through the Season by Kate Atchley
Sunday, 3 November at 2pm
Kinellar Hall, Fintray Rd, Blackburn AB21 0JQ


SBA Exams
Saturday, 9 November at 10am
Westhill Library, Westhill Drive, Skene, AB32 6FY


Lecture by Prof. David Evans (website: The Apiarist)
November or December (details to follow)